Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Donegal Heritage Trails

Link to: Trip Advisor Reviews


Niamh McCabe - September 2020:

I recently went on Deirdre’s walking tour of Rathmullan with my family while on holidays in Donegal and would highly recommend it. Deirdre’s knowledge, approach and manner make for a really interesting and entertaining two hours! The time flew as we took in stories of history and intrigue, with the perfect balance of facts, history and storytelling. My time in Rathmullan was certainly made more memorable thanks to her.


Trish Dwyer - July 2020:

Would highly recommend both of Deirdra’s tours to visitors in the region. We did the Rathmullan tour on Tues and enjoyed it so much we signed up for Ramelton today. The tours are informative and entertaining, with just the right balance between history and human interest.


@Amo 21 – August 2019

This is a really interesting tour round an archaeological gem of a town. Our guide Deirdra was very knowledgeable and showed us parts of the town we had never visited despite being regular visitors to Ramelton. Would thoroughly recommend.


Ita Lawler – August 2019

My sister and I took Deirdra’s very informative tour of Ramelton. The tour was excellent and Deirdra’s knowledge of local history was amazing. Although I am originally from close to this area I had no idea of the list of amazing people who had come from this town and it’s history. When I come back again I will defiantly do her other tour of Rathmullen. Deirdra’s interacted so well with the group and has an easy going personality. Definitely a must if staying in the area.


Gretta – August 2019

Interesting Ramelton Walkabout

Thoroughly enjoyed this informative two hour walkabout in Ramelton. Deirdre was an excellent Guide and good craic.

Kathleen K – July 2019

This is a walking tour not to be missed when in Rathmullan !

We took the Donegal Heritage tours of Ramelton a few years ago with Deirdre and really enjoyed it. Today, we took our visitors from San Antonio, Texas, to the Rathmullan Heritage tour. Deirdre was welcoming and a very experienced and informative guide. Rathmullan is rich in history that she explains very well. It’s a nice well paced tour that should not be missed. There are corners of Rathmullan that I didn’t know existed! Our visitors enjoyed it very much and were impressed! We all highly recommend her tour and will be taking our next visitors on this walking tour.


Michael Bradley – July 2019

Fantastic Tour

We participated in the first tour of the season yesterday. Having passed through Ramelton since the 1970’s I can’t believe the history of the town which I was totally unaware of. Deirdra is a fantastic tour guide and very knowledgeable. One of the best events I have participated in Donegal. Hopefully we will bump into Deirdra tomorrow at the Ramelton Festival to thank her again.


Mary - May 2019

Perfect Irish roots tour for our family group

We visited Rathmullan and Ramelton, where our ancestors, the Lockharts, emigrated from in the 1840s. Deirdre provided a wonderful overview of Irish history and the local area, giving us a very personal baBoldckground for our visit with possible Irish cousins. She was an energetic and engaging guide for the five of us, covering architecture, history, culture, economics, and so much more. We thoroughly enjoyed our day with her and highly recommend her walking tours.


Sara – May 2019

Fantastic afternoon in Ramelton!

We had such a great afternoon with Deirdra in Ramelton, our tour was so relaxed, with so much information packed in. This town has real history. I would thoroughly recommend this walking tour. Thanks to our wonderful guide!


M.Commodore – Feb 2019

Brilliant!

Just completed a walking tour on a windy February Day. Have been in Rathmullan many times but never looked at the headstones, plaques or ventured through the gates and pathways...to do all this with all the guiding stories and history was great. To get inside the buildings and churches was a good experience. Time well spent.

Janet – July 2018

Really enjoyable and interesting tour of the little town of Ramelton. Deirdra really knows the town and its history - well-paced tour with lots of fascinating insider info and anecdotes. Highly recommended.


Linda C 2nd April 2018

Through email Deirdra very kindly facilitated a tour of Ramelton for a group of us visiting Ramelton out of season in March. Deirda's passion was infectious, really was such an interesting tour of a beautiful village which has such a great history. Thank you!


Michael Sheehan 17th March 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the heritage walk hosted by Deirdra around Rathmullan today. A cold day but the sun was out making it a very pleasant excursion


Mary Macken 4th March 2018

Fabulous, Deirdra. In whatever weather. I am STILL telling everyone about our marvellous, informative & evocative walk with you around Rathmullan at the end of last summer. A special memory. Till we meet again.


Iain Morrison 27th October 2017

This tour was so interesting and enlightening, great Guide Deirdre, highly recommended, such heritage in the town


Alicia W 20th September 2017

I wanted to learn about the Plantation period in County Donegal, but I planned my visit for September. No worries! I emailed to ask if a tour would be possible in the off season, and the very helpful Deirdra set me up well in advance. We had a great tour of Ramelton, learned a lot, and felt it was a really good value. Highly recommended!! Learning the history of a place makes it that much more interesting to visit, in my opinion.


David 19th August 2017

I did Deidre's walking tour of Ramelton with my parents on 10th August 2017. It was very enjoyable and informative. If you have the slightest curiosity at all about the history of the town you will find this a good way to spend your time.

I'd also like to do the Rathmullan tour whenever I'm back in those parts. Deirdre is a very good guide. Recommended.


Dianne Harkin (Brisbane) - 2nd May 2017

Thank you Dierdra for a wonderful and informative walk through the village of Rathmullan. Your knowledge helped these Aussies to understand some important events in Ireland's history. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area


Jacqui McMaster (Belfast) - 20th April 2017

Spent an hour and a half with Deirdra and our party of 8 over Easter. Super walk, very interesting to hear lots of stories about the history of Rathmullen.

Suitable for everyone young and old. Deirdra is a very articulate guide and is extremely well versed in her history of Ireland . Would definitely recommend this tour. We thoroughly enjoyed it.


Visitor from Seattle - 16th April 2017

This was a great way to learn about Rathmullan. Deirdra was very personable and brought the local history to life. Beautiful setting and enjoyable visit


Aoife (Dublin) - 20th Noveber 2016

Would recommend the walking tour of Rathmullan with Donegal Heritage Trails to anyone with an interest in the area or history in general. Had a really interesting hour and a half tour with Deirdra, who has a fantastic knowledge of the town's past. We were a group of 6 and everyone enjoyed it!


Miriam McNally - August 23rd 2014

It was a brilliant tour! So many interesting facts and tales, presented in a very entertaining way, while getting a bit of walking in too. Great way to spend a couple of hours, highly recommend it.


Helen Lawrence - August 21st 2014

Really interesting tour about the history of this small village in Ireland.


Beckie Daniels - August 17th 2014

Thank you Deirdra for a really interesting tour. Learnt lots. Recommended to my mummy, who's coming next week


Michael Mc Auley - August 14th 2014

Excellent, very entertaining tour today thanks, Deirdra


Lynda Lynch - August 5th 2014

Lovely weather, super guide and interesting historic town. What else could you want? We are looking forward to the Rathmullan tour on a Thursday, that's next week! Thank you.


Brian Caul - August 3rd 2014

Many thanks for a great walking tour. A glorious day out!


Brian and Sandra Caul - July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the walking tours of Ramelton (17/714) and Rathmullan (24/7/14). Although we've been visiting the areas for many years, Deirdra's excellently researched commentaries enlightened us with lots of fresh and interesting facts.


Cherly Harbison - July 31st 2014

We did both these tours today - brilliant. Loads of interesting stories and history delivered with charm and humour by Deirdra. Many thanks.


Tripadvisor Review - April 20th 2014

I went on a tour with Deirdre. She is full of information on the history of the place. We visited some of the most beautiful scenery around (our guide always knew where the best stops were) - Rathmullan, Fanad to name just a few. We got good advise on where to wine and dine, too! Comes highly recommended!


Doris - April 3rd 2014

“Most stunning area, the views, the history and stories told by Deirdra”


Alan Willis - August 15th 2013:

Thanks for a very interesting walking tour around Rathmullan. We've been travelling there to visit family for many (many) years and we've now seen things/places we didn't even know existed. An hour very well spent.


Doris Johnston - July 29th 2013:

" Thanks for a wonderful morning on the Ramelton Walking Tour"


David Johnston - July 29th 2013:

" Thanks for the really interesting and informative "walk and talk".


Susan McKelvey - July 15th 2013:

"Fabulous tour of Ramelton!!! Would highly recommend it great value as well...a lovely way to spend an hour and a half"


Joy Mc Grath - July 20th 2012:

"Deirdra, we loved your tour of Ramelton yesterday! It was a very helpful introduction to the history of the area for two Americans who know very little Irish history!"


Paul Deeney - April 12th 2012:

"I had the pleasure of following Deirdre on a heritage trail of the village of Rathmullan on a lovely sunny afternoon in mid-April. The trail visits the Battery, abbey, local church graveyards, the courthouse and the area around the Flight of the Earls sculpture."

0